J. S. Bach (1685-1750).

The Complete Flute Sonatas

Flute: Emmanuel Pahud.
Harpsichord: Trevor Pinnock.





Henry Purcell (1659-1695).

Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary.
Céline Scheen • Hana Blazikova
Alice Foccroulle • Pascal Bertin
Jean-Christophe Clair • Jean-Michel Fumas
Phillipe Froeliger • Thibault Lenaerts
Renaud Tripathi • Jean-Claude Sarragosse
Lionel Meunier • Malcolm Bothwell

La Fenice
Conducted by Jean Tubéry.



Vaslav Nijinsky (1889-1950)
Rudolf Nureyev (1938-1993)

“Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune”, known in English as “Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun”, is a symphonic poem for orchestra by Claude Debussy (1862-1918) approximately 10 minutes in duration. It was first performed in Paris on December 22, 1894, conducted by Gustave Doret.
Debussy’s work later provided the basis for the ballet “Afternoon of a Faun” choreographed by Vaslav Nijinsky.


“It was well known that Madame Danilova, the famous teacher and former ballerina with the Ballet Russe, had a phrase that she would always repeat whenever anyone gushed to her about the performance of a danseur. The phrase was, “Yes, but I saw Nijinsky.” So one night, Madame came to see the Nijinsky program, the homage to the Ballet Russe with Nureyev and the Joffrey Ballet, the company you see here: L’apresmidi, Petrouchka, and Spectre de la Rose. Afterward, she went backstage where she was received with utmost respect by Nureyev. “Rudolf,” she said, “you know what I always say.” He answered with humility, “Yes, Madame. I do.” And she said, “This time, I do not say it.” That’s about the highest praise I can imagine for one of the two greatest dancers of the 20th century, both gone way too soon.?” – Lin Hiril (Google +)





Tintagel is a symphonic poem by Arnold Bax. It is his best-known work, and was for some years the only piece by which the composer was known to many concert-goers. The work was inspired by a visit Bax made to Tintagel Castle in Cornwall in 1917, and, although not explicitly programmatic, draws on the history and mythology associated with the castle.
Tintagel was premiered on 20 October 1921.

Performed by the Orquesta de Radiotelevisión Española.

bax 2



Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (12 August 1644 – 3 May 1704) was a Bohemian-Austrian composer and violinist. Born in the small Bohemian town of Wartenberg (Stráž pod Ralskem), he worked at Graz and Kroměříž before he illegally left his Kremsier (Kroměříž) employer (Prince-Bishop Carl Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn) and settled in Salzburg.
Biber was one of the most important composers for the violin in the history of the instrument. He also wrote one of the earliest known pieces for solo violin, the monumental passacaglia of the Mystery Sonatas.

Passacaglia for solo violin (1676)
Elicia Silverstein, baroque violin.